Jaffa Cakes!!

Hello.

Let’s get straight to the point; I treat anyone who says they don’t like Jaffa Cakes with great suspicion. What’s not to like? Cake, Jelly and chocolate…BLISS!

As you have probably guessed, Jaffa Cakes are one of my favourite things to eat and so this week I decided to have a go at making some myself, it is National Baking Week after all. It went pretty well and I believe I pretty much got it right on the second attempt. So, here it is to share with you. I, once again, apologise for the bad quality of the pictures, it is a recipe where working fast is required and also one part involved boiling water, fire AND electricity so I was trying to remain focused!

What you will need is:
A pack of orange or Tangerine jelly
2 Clementines
2 Eggs
50g Caster sugar
50g Plain Flour
A Bar of Dark Chocolate – I always use Cadbury’s Bournevile

The first step is Jelly – I wet for the tried and tested option:

Cut it up with scissors or a knife as you usually would to make jelly but make sure the pieces are pretty small because you’ll be using less water than usual and it helps it to dissolve quicker.

As I’m sure you know, the “Jaffa” in Jaffa Cakes is thicker and tangy-er than normal kids Jelly. To make the flavour stronger and more orangey I tried, on the first attempt, adding a bit of Valencian Orange extract. Unfortunately this kind of just sat on the top and didn’t work very well. However, on the second attempt I used the Tangerine flavour of Hartley’s Jelly to start with and also squeezed the juice of two Clementines into the measuring jug before adding the jelly and water.

As you can see, it doesn’t yield much liquid but trust me, it does help the flavour. The next step is to fill the jug up to 300ml with boiling water. Add the jelly and stir to dissolve it as you would normally.

When I did this there were still a couple of tiny bits of Jelly that didn’t dissolve. The first time, I topped it up but the Jelly wasn’t dense enough in the end, so the second time I just poured it through a sieve so the lumps didn’t go through.

What you pour it (through a sieve) into is some sort or tray or tin. I used a square baking tin lined with cling film to make getting the jelly out easier (and reduce washing up!) It doesnt really matter what you use but what you want is for the jelly to be in a thin layer, probably less than one centimetre but its up to you really.

That’s the jelly, or rather, Jaffa bit sorted so pop that into the fridge to set.

Next up is the cakey bit. As this bit of the Jaffa cake is slightly more dense and chewy than normal cake, it demands a slightly different cake-making technique.

You need to bring a small amount of water to the boil in a saucepan and suspend a bowl above it, not touching the water.

Get your eggs, sugar and flour near by and weighed and have a cupcake/muffin tin ready. Plug your electric whisk in or get your wrist warmed up and here we go.
P1030966

Into your bowl suspended above the water add your eggs and sugar and whisk until it is well combined, pale and frothy.

Once you’ve reached that stage then add the flour in and keep whisking until everything is combined. Remove the bowl from the heat.

Now you need to grease your muffin tin. I, of course, used cake spray to do this – much easier and only took seconds.
Then evenly fill the holes with the mixture. This amount of mixture creates bases thicker than the commercial Jaffa Cakes so if you’d rather they were thinner then get another muffin tray and spread your mixture a bit further.

As you can see, I’m not the neatest o bakers when it comes to filling tins!
Pop the tray in the oven and bake the cakes at about 180C for about 7-10mins. Keep an eye on then as they do bake pretty quickly. You’re looking for them to be golden and pretty firm with darker edges.

Just let these cool in the tin.

Melt the chocolate using your preferred and leave that to cool down a bit too.

Now back to the jelly which will hopefully have set by the time the cakes have cooled.

You want to cut circles out of the jelly that are a bit smaller that the cakes are, as with normal Jaffa Cakes. I didn’t have a cutter the size I wanted so I ended up cutting round a bottle top with a knife.

Once the cakes have cooled then place the discs of jelly in the centre of each one.

At this moment I took a little break in which to eat a fair amount of the left over jelly, however, the next real step is to put the chocolate on top. Leave the cakes in the tin for this as it keeps the shape better. The first time I attempted this I covered them all in one go and then put them in the fridge but this resulted in the jelly melting in quite a few of them and leaking out. So, the second time I topped them with chocolate one at a time popping the whole tray in the fridge until the chocolate had mostly solidified each time. This is slightly time consuming but its worth it for a better finish.

Once you’ve covered them all in chocolate leave them al in the fridge to set hard. When they are all set then you can turn them out from the tin. Hey Presto! your own home made Jaffa Cakes

Hope you enjoy making and eating these. I ate them nearly all at once!

Let me know how you get on.

Happy Baking

Kate 🙂

