Review: Pea, Ham and Cheese Muffins

Welcome to my first review!

This is a recipe I found when searching for new things for my Boyfriend’s work lunches as he was getting bored with sandwiches. I tell you I’m glad I did!

The recipe can be found here:
http://lunchboxworld.co.uk/recipeUploads/Pea,_Ham_and_Cheese_Muffins_Recipe.pdf
and the site it comes from is http://lunchboxworld.co.uk/index.html which is full of other lovely recipes too.

When I made these for the first time they came out perfectly! If you follow the recipe exactly you can’t go wrong; it’s well written and a great combination of flavours. I will admit that I didn’t add any mustard powder as I didn’t have any to hand but I didn’t miss it because the muffins tasted delicious.

The only downside to this recipe is that, after the day of baking, the muffins tend to get a bit heavy and chewy and they generally aren’t as nice. However, I’ve come up with a solution to this. If you don’t manage to scoff them all down on the day you baked them then you can still enjoy them by popping them in the oven for a few minutes to warm through. I suppose this might be achieved quicker in the microwave but, as I don’t have one, I can’t advise on that I’m afraid. Once warmed they are as good as new.

For a lovely lunch simply eat them as they are, smother them in butter or enjoy them with a lovely slice of Brie on top (my favourite).

So, this is a great little recipe and very handy for when you fancy something different for lunch and, as the website it comes from suggests, it’s perfect for lunchboxes. I also served them up with a selection of meats, cheeses and crackers when my Mum and Aunty came for lunch recently and they went down well (that’s a thorough test if ever there was one!)

I hope this is helpful, let me know what you think if you try the recipe yourself

Happy Baking

Kate

🙂

