Après-festivities and a little plea.

Hello and Happy New Year’s Eve. Welcome to the last post of 2013.

I do hope you all had a fabulous time over Christmas and also maybe baked lots of goodies! I did :). I also hope that you have a fantastic time ringing in the New Year tonight. The time between Christmas and New Year is always a bit weird…sort of like a festive limbo! So, I thought I would share with you some of the things I baked this Christmas Time…I know it’s too late for you to do some of them yourself but others may give you nice ideas for other present-giving occasions.

Before I do though, i wanted to ask a little favour of you. I’ve entered the UK Blog Awards this year and it starts with a public vote. It’s very quick and simple to vote and I would really appreciate it if you would support me by voting for my little blog. Simply follow this link and click vote…I believe you get a free ebook too!  http://www.blogawardsuk.co.uk/blog-entries/the-blunderous-baker/

Right, lets get back to the baking updates. Firstly, here is a picture of my Christmas cake. I kept the decoration simple this year which was a challenge as I’m always tempted to just cover everything in glitter at Christmas! I used Mary Berry’s recipe as always from “Mary Berry’s Baking Bible” which I really recommend you buy if you received a book voucher for Christmas.

This year, after watching the Christmas Bake-off, I decided to have a go at making a gingerbread house. I roped in my brother to help me as he is a designer and much less clumsy than I am! Even at 22 and 23 we still had a few arguments whilst constructing it! It was quite messy but I’m still pretty proud of it. The only issue is, its quite large and none of us really like gingerbread that much!! Please ignore the extremely messy background an bad choice of base!

I also made my presents again and this year I decided to make cake stands as well as some sweet edible treats as always. Here’s a picture of the cake stands. ( I may or May not have kept one for myself)

I added my treats to these and wrapped them up in cellophane. I made candied peel, spiced cranberry jelly (both from Annie Rigg’s book – see my review), fruit and nut chocolate drops, marzipan cupcakes, fruit cupcakes and festive popcorn made with Jamie Oliver’s recipe for spiced sugar which you can find here http://www.jamieoliver.com/recipes/recipe/spiced-sugar-christmas-popcorn

I will admit to the candy canes not being my own work of course! I got loads of little cupcake cups and boxes etc from icedjemsshop.com and I really recommend you have a look. Lots of lovely cheap baking related things!

Hope you enjoyed having a look at some of the things I made this Christmas and I wish you all the best for the New Year and I hope you can keep following my blog in 2014 because I really love writing for you all! Regular posting will resume next week when life is back to normal and out of post-Christmas, pre-New Year limbo!

Happy Baking and Partying

Kate 🙂

