Recipe Review: Poached Chicken

I know what you’re thinking – a poached chicken? Isn’t poaching for eggs? Well, just hold on – it’s totally worth a try I promise!

I know this isn’t baking but I found this recipe as I had a whole chicken for dinner and wanted something different to do other than roasting it. I saw this little gem of a page from Jamie Oliver that not only tells you how to poach your chicken but helps you out with ideas of what to do with the leftovers and I really wanted to share it! You can find it here: http://www.jamieoliver.com/recipes/chicken-recipes/using-the-whole-chicken

As you can see, it’s less of a formal recipe and more of a guideline so you can add whatever you like. I like this, especially because I was looking this up with no intention of shopping for anything extra! I added onion, bay, rosemary, seasoning, some dry mixed herbs and then later on during the cooking, as it says, I added cubed swede, Fennel and finally some cabbage.

It says you need to bring it up to the boil and then just let it simmer for 1hr20mins. I will just add here that, if like me, you don’t really think about it, it takes a long time to bring water up to the boil when it has a whole chicken in it. I didn’t consider this in my initial timings and so we ended up eating a bit later than planned! It really was that simple though – bring it all to the boil, simmer and occasionally add some veg!

It suggests below the recipe to then take the chicken out, shred the meat off with a fork, put this in some bowls and then pour the broth over with the veg. I served mine like this although I thickened the broth with a little corn flour first because I’m not a fan of very watery meals! It did, however, taste delicious! It was like a lovely hearty stew full of gorgeously moist meat and yummy veg. Certainly very warming (I burnt my tongue pretty badly in my greediness!)

So this recipe  definitely gets a big thumbs up from me! Also, below the recipe there are more suggestions on what to do with the leftovers of your chicken and broth which is useful. You really will end up with a lot of broth left over and, as Jamie suggests, you can freeze it but that’s not what I did. I cooked loads of veg when I made the main meal as I needed to use it up so I had half a big pan full of veg and tasty broth. I couldn’t resist – out came the stick blender and I simple whizzed it up and there you have it – soup! So very simple, will keep you all fed the next day for lunch, and really tastes divine!

I didn’t use the left over chicken in the soup as I wanted to use that for dinner the next night and nor did I follow any of Jamie’s suggestions although they look great. I baked some jacket potatoes and made a chicken and bacon sauce. I simple made a roux which I added some cheese to, fried the left over chicken with some bacon and added that to the sauce with some frozen peas and a slosh of white wine. I heated this for a bit longer and we ate that on top of our Jacket potatoes – it was real comfort food and yummy!

So there you go, a great recipe and it can feed you for two dinners and two lunches – thrifty! Also, pretty healthy with all that veg and no added fat to the chicken in the poaching recipe. I really recommend this one, even if for now you just read through the page. It’s really important that we all use our left overs and don’t just throw things away! Let me know if you give it a go and if you enjoy it as much as I did!

Happy Poaching!

Kate 🙂

