Simple Puff Pastry Ideas Part 2

Hello everyone!

It’s time for the second instalment of Puff Pastry goodness. This time we are focussing on sweet.

Now, I believe in letting you know what didn’t quite work as well as what did so I’ve included a tart that wasn’t perfect in this, (you can guess which one from the photo!) but more on that later. Let’s get started with Nutella!!

YOU WILL NEED:
Ready Made Puff Pastry
Nutella
A few chopped Roasted Hazelnuts
An Egg, beaten
Demerara Sugar
Ground Cinnamon

Take a third of your puff pastry block and split it in two. Roll this half out into a rectangle, slightly thinner than a pound coin. Take a dollop of Nutella from the jar and spread it thickly over your pastry, leaving about an inch around the edge.

Brush the bare edges with a little beaten egg.

Mix about two tablespoons of your Demerara sugar with about a teaspoon of ground cinnamon. Take this mixture and sprinkle it around the edges, over the beaten egg.

Finally, sprinkle your chopped hazelnuts over the Nutella.

Now all you need to do is pop it on a lined baking tray and put it in the oven at 200C for around fifteen minutes. It couldn’t get much simpler! This tart is a really easy and tasty treat and I think kids will love to make and eat it too! If you don’t like cinnamon, then just leave it out, the sugar alone will add flavour and you’ll still have a lovely crunchy edge.

You can also use most of the ingredients to make some pinwheels – I did this with the last third of pastry that I had left after creating my three rectangular tarts. All you need to do is roll out the pastry, thinner than for your tarts, then brush the pastry with the beaten egg.

Sprinkle your sugar and cinnamon mixture all over this so it is well coated.

Put little blobs of Nutella around randomly atop the pastry.

Roll this all up into a long sausage and then cut into little rounds, a centimetre or two will do.

Then put these in the oven at 200C for about ten minutes until they are nicely golden. Almost as simple as the tart and just as yummy! Perfect for a lunch box treat too.

Now, the next tart is the one that didn’t turn out quite right but it is still really tasty. I used my homemade Seville Marmalade to top the pastry but it wasn’t enough to weigh the centre down so it all puffed up and lots of the marmalade ran off the edge. Then it all seemed to just deflate again when it cooled down again. Despite it being quite tricky and sticky to eat, the flavour still worked very well so I still wanted to share. I am going to bake something soon with the same flavours that will hopefully be more successfully.

I used the same technique as the other tarts but spread my marmalade on top, added the seeds from two cardamom pods, some clementine segments and a few dried cranberries. Then I grated some dark chocolate over the top.

I baked it for the same amount of time too. So really simple but not quite successful. If you like the sound of the flavours then keep an eye out because, as I say, I’m planning to create something based on these flavours soon.

I do hope you try these simple little tarts and pinwheels out and it just goes to show that all you need when you can’t be bothered but have to serve something up is a block of ready made puff pastry!

Let me know if you try these out.

Happy Baking

Kate 🙂

