Liz’s Super Simple Chocolate Muffins

Happy Friday everyone!
Hope you’re all looking forward to a lovely weekend. This week I’m sharing another really easy recipe which will make your weekend a lot tastier!

The recipe originally comes from my boyfriend’s Mum, Liz. When we were first going out and I used to go over to his house there was always some sort of cakey treat on offer. I can be quite fussy so her apple or coffee cakes were not the most tempting to me (although very tempting to everyone else!) but, whenever Liz offered me a chocolate muffin I would always say yes! They are so yummy and really simple to make and it’s an easy recipe to remember. I got the recipe from her and started making them a couple of years ago and my friends at drama school often scoffed them down with glee.

If you need to make a sweet treat to take somewhere last minute or fancy something and don’t want it to be complicated to make, then this is the recipe for you.

YOU WILL NEED:
4oz Margarine
4oz Caster Sugar
4oz Self-Raising Flour
2 Eggs
2 Tbsp Cocoa Powder
A small packet (around 100g I think) White, Plain or milk Chocolate chips

Start by creaming your margarine with your sugar until smooth and creamy (much quicker with marg than butter).

Then add your eggs and flour and beat until combined well.

Sieve the cocoa powder into the mix and mix in.

Pour in your chocolate chips and fold them in to make sure they are evenly distributed. You can use any sort of chocolate chips, I like to use white in these muffins but milk, dark or plain work just as well and, even better, a mix makes it extra yummy. Supermarkets sell chocolate chips in little packets in their baking sections and I normally just use a whole one rather than measuring carefully – this makes a muffin packed full of chocolate.

Now you need to spoon the mix into paper cases or baking cups. You can either make twelve smaller muffins in little cupcake cases or around six bigger muffins in muffin cases. I did bigger muffins this time simply because I think they look nice in the baking cups I have! The smaller size is perfect for kids.

The Muffins need to bake in an oven pre-heated to 180C for around 15 mins if they are smaller and around 20 mins if bigger. When you think they are done, gently press them with your finger; if they spring back they are done, if not, leave them a little longer.

Once they are out then leave them to cool on a wire rack for as long as you can (we can never wait until they are cold). If you fancy a pudding and don’t have anything then these are actually quite nice still warm with cream poured over them.

How easy was that?! Lovely muffins in no time at all! I am forever grateful to my boyfriend’s mum for this recipe and I hope you will enjoy making these too. Let me know if you do and what you think of them.

Happy Baking

Kate 🙂

