Chai Tea Butterfly Cakes

Hello Everyone!

It’s been a while hasn’t it? So, first of all I’d like to apologise for my lack of posting on here lately. It’s been busy here for me and everything seems to have happened at once with no time for baking. I have definitely missed it and getting into the kitchen today to bake these lovely little butterfly cakes was a delight and my mind started sparking up with other sweet ideas to share with you soon. So here’s to more baking time to come soon.

Now, I’ve noticed a rise in the popularity of Chai tea and Lattes lately. I spotted a little tub of powdered Chai mix in the supermarket whilst I was doing my shopping and popped it in the basket, thinking it might be a nice and easy way to incorporate those flavours into baking.

That’s exactly what I’ve done here by making Chai Butterfly Cakes.

What You Will Need:

For the Cakes:
175g Self Raising Flour
125g Unsalted Butter
175g Caster Sugar
2 Large Eggs
3 tbsp Chai Powder
4 tbsp Whole Milk
1 tsp Vanilla Extract

For the Cream:
150ml Double Cream
2 tbsp Icing Sugar
1 tsp Vanilla Extract

First things first, you will need to preheat your oven to 180C so its up to temperature for your cakes. Next, beat the butter until it is soft, add the sugar and continue to beat until you have a light and fluffy mix.

Beat the eggs lightly with the vanilla extract and add that to the mix a little at a time, beating really well between additions.

In a cup or small bowl whisk together the Chai powder and milk until you have a smooth, thick mixture.

Add this and the flour alternately in three batches until it is all incorporated and no lumps remain.

Spoon this mix evenly into paper cases and pop them in the oven for about 20 minutes, until the cakes are a nice golden brown and spring back when you press them lightly with you finger.

Leave the cakes to cool on a wire rack whilst you deal with the cream.

All you need to do is add the icing sugar to the cream and then whip it up until it can hold its shape but is still shiny and smooth. At the last moment stir in the vanilla extract too.

When your cakes are cool you will need to cut the tops of to make the butterfly wings. Put a knife in at a slight angle, not too close to the edge, and then run it all the way around so that you remove the top bit of the cake and you are left with a little dip in which to put the cream.

You can either use a piping bag or a teaspoon to deposit a little mound of cream into the little dip that you have left in your cake.

Once you have a lovely little cream topped cake, cut the removed bit in half. Then all you have to do is simply place the two halves on top of the cream to create little butterfly wings.

I finished mine off with a little dusting of icing sugar, you don’t have to do this but I think it looks pretty.

Now just yourself a nice cup of chai tea, sit down with your feet up and enjoy your lightly spiced cupcakes!

I think these are lovely for a slightly more grown up twist on butterfly cakes and the light spiciness of them makes them a perfect alternative to other Easter  spiced bakes that you might be devouring at this time of year.

I do hope you try these and enjoy them. Let me know if you do and perhaps even send me a picture – I’d love to see. There will be more cakey recipes coming soon here on the blog so if you want to keep updated then click the follow link on the right hand side of the page and you will get told every time I post something new.

Hope you all have a fantastic weekend.

Happy Baking

Kate 🙂

