Rhubarb and Custard Cupcakes

Happy Friday Everyone!

I hope you’re all well and looking forward to a lovely weekend that might involve some baking. I’ve recently made these lovely cupcakes and I wanted to share the recipe with you so you’ll be able to bake and enjoy these for the weekend and beyond.

I’d like to apologise for the quality of the photos this week and the fact that there aren’t as many as usual – I’m afraid I was busy betting on losing horses in the Grand National at the same time!!

You Will Need:

For the Cakes:
175g Self-Raising Flour
2 1/2 Tbsp Custard Powder
125g Margarine (stork)
175g Caster Sugar
2 Large Eggs
3 Tbsp Milk
2 Sticks Rhubarb
3 Tbsp Granulated Sugar

For the Icing:
2 Heaped Tbsp Custard Powder
100g Icing Sugar
Some water

For this recipe I’ve used Stork margarine instead of unsalted butter which I normally use in cupcakes. That’s because the Custard Powder creates quite a strong crust on the cakes and butter can also have this effect so I didn’t want to double up in case the outside ended up rock hard!

The first thing to do is prepare your rhubarb. Cut it up into small pieces and pop them in a saucepan. Sprinkle over the sugar and drizzle a little water on top. Then gently heat the rhubarb until it becomes soft and has mushed up a bit. You still want a few bit which have kept their shape but just make sure its all nice and soft! Transfer this to a bowl to cool down.

To start your cupcakes, cream your margarine with the caster sugar until you have a nice creamy mix of the two.

Next, beat your eggs and add them a little at a time, beating well between additions.

Once that’s all come together, mix your custard powder into your flour. Add a third of this and then, once mixed in, a third of the milk and keep alternating until you’ve used all the ingredients up and you have a nice smooth, well combined batter.

Spoon a little mixture into each of your paper cases, just enough to cover the bottom of them.

Take about half a teaspoon of the cooked and cooled rhubarb and plop it into the middle of the cake mix in the cases.

Next, used the rest of the batter to cover up the rhubarb, being careful that it doesn’t just slide to the edge or you’ll have a leaky cake! This will give you a thin, but tasty layer of rhubarb in the middle of your custardy cupcake.

I actually made about 16 cakes with this batter as I used quite small cases.

Pop your cupcakes into a pre-heated oven at 180C for about 20 minutes, until they spring back when you press them lightly with your finger tip. Place them on a wire rack and whilst they cool you can make your icing. I forgot to take a picture of them as they were cooling as this is when the horses were racing!!

Mix the custard powder and Icing sugar in a bowl and whisk in water until you have a thick but runny icing that tastes deliciously custardy (try not to eat it all out of the bowl!)

Once the cakes are cool you can spoon the icing on top and spread it over the cakes.

I had some rhubarb left so I popped a little of that on top of each one too to bring a bit more colour.

These were a real success – I took them into work where there are quite a few fussy people around and they all said they loved (I’m assuming they weren’t just being polite!) The cakes have a nostalgic flavour of the old boiled sweets that we know and love and I think they are just perfect for this time of year when spring is in the air and English Rhubarb is easy to find.

I hope you try these out, perhaps as a little Easter gift to friends and family. Let me know if you do and if you love them as much as my boyfriend and I did.

Happy Baking

Kate 🙂

