Oaty Cake Bars

Hello Everyone!

I hope you’re all well. It’s been a busy couple of weeks for me including going to the UK Blog Awards last Friday which was great fun. We stayed at the hotel where it was held which was very posh and very much enjoyed the free candy floss and an amazingly random goody bag! So thanks again to all of you who voted me into the shortlist for the awards. I didn’t win and to tell you the truth I wasn’t expecting to but the fact that I managed to get to that point made me feel great! The blog that won the Food & Drink Individual Category is amazing and I thoroughly recommend you all go and check it out here: http://veggiedesserts.co.uk/ Who knew there were so many ways to bake with Veg?!

Todays bake is something I made up based on a cake bar you can buy in the supermarket that my boyfriend really likes. They are called Elevenses Bars and his favourite is the “Raisin Bake” variety. I have no qualms buying these from the supermarket for him but I decided to see if I could make my own version as they would undoubtedly be a bit healthier. Now I’m not naïve enough to think that a CAKE bar can be truly healthy but, when you look on the ingredients list of the Kellogg’s version and see things such as “inverted sugar syrup,” a couple of acids you’ve never heard of and various E-numbers, you start thinking that it’s GOT to be better for you to make it yourself. Oh, and WAAAY cheaper I might add.

So, that’s exactly what I did and they’ve turned out really well. They aren’t the prettiest things I’ve ever made but they sure are moist and yummy and my boyfriend heartily approved – he even said they tasted almost like the real thing! Not bad! Fancy giving a go yourself? Here’s how…

You Will Need:
100g Oats + extra for on top
250ml Water
150g Plain Flour
150g Margarine
1/2 Teaspoon Bicarbonate of Soda
1/2 Teaspoon Baking Powder
1/2 Teaspoon Ground Cinnamon
100g Sultanas (or raisins if you prefer)
100g Light Brown Muscovado Sugar
75g Caster Sugar
2 Large Eggs, Lightly Beaten

What To Do:

Measure your oats into a bowl and cover with the water. Give them a quick stir round and leave them to soak whilst you get the other ingredients weighed out. This will just soften up the oats so you don’t get big chewy lumps of them whilst enjoying your cake.

Mix the baking powder, bicarb and cinnamon into the flour and then add in the sultanas and mix them in until they are well coated in the flour. This helps to stop the fruit clumping together and keep it more evenly distributed throughout the cake.

Beat all of the sugar with the margarine until you have a smooth and creamy mixture. Muscovado sugar does tend to stay in lumps so just make sure there aren’t any lurking about.

Add your eggs a little bit at a time whilst continually beating well and scraping down the sides of the bowl from time to time.

Drain any excess water from the oats and then add them to the mix and beat in well. At this point, the mixture really doesn’t look nice but I promise I will turn out all right!

Add your flour and sultana mix and beat it all until really well combined.

Pop the mix into a square tin (I used a 20cm Square). I greased my tin with non-stick baking spray but I also lined it across one way with baking paper just to make it easier to get out of the tin. Level out your mixture so it’s evenly spread across the tin and then take a handful of oats and sprinkle them on top.

Put the tray in the oven and bake at 180C for around 20-25 minutes until you can insert a skewer that comes out clean.

Leave it to cool in the tin for a few minutes and then turn the cake out of the tin and onto a wire rack to cool.

When It’s cold you can cut it into rectangles as big or small as you fancy, put your feet up and enjoy with a cup of tea!

I hope you try the recipe out and please let me know if you do. I’d especially like to know what you think of them if you or someone you know loves the Elevenses bars, to see if they really do match up!

Happy Baking

Kate 🙂

