Speculaas and Sultana Cookies

Hello Everyone!

I have a lovely treat for you today. A little while ago now I was sent an email from Steven Dotsch from The Speculaas Spice Company asking if I would like a sample of his spice mix based on his Dutch grandmothers’ own sweet tasting mix to try out. Of course I said YES PLEASE! Now, for those of you who don’t know, Speculaas is a spice mix originally from the Netherlands and is usually used for traditional biscuits of the same name. Here’s what is says about it on their website:  “The vandotsch speculaas spice mix delivers deliciously warm, sweet and spicy ‘layers’ of taste that take any simple cinnamon taste to another level…”

The spice mix is 55%  Organic real Cinnamon from Sri Lanka with eight other spices. I wanted to test the spice using something that could normally use just cinnamon and see what the result would be. I think this is important because if you were to buy this spice I’m sure you would want to make more than just the standard biscuits. I didn’t stray far from the path as I made cookies but, after trying it out I know that you can pretty much use this spice wherever you would normally use cinnamon. This is great because it adds a new twist to your normal recipes and the depth of flavour becomes so much better that just using one spice alone. I think it would be especially delicious in things like apple pie or crumble too.

So I really recommend you go and have a look at Steven’s Speculaas website and maybe buy a little jar and give your baking a new lease of life! There are also more recipes on there for you to give a go.

So, as I said, I decided to make some cookies. These are so simple to make and you will love these little mounds of chewy deliciousness. Of course, if you don’t have any Speculaas spice mix yet but can’t wait to make them then you can use cinnamon instead but I really recommend you get your hands on that Vandotsch Speculaas spice mix!

You Will Need:

125g Unsalted Butter
100g Golden Granulated Sugar
150g Plain Flour
1 Large Egg, lightly beaten
1/2 Tsp Vanilla Extract
2 Tsp Speculaas Spice Mix
1/2 Tsp Baking Powder
100g Sultanas

Start by beating the butter until it is nice and smooth. Then add the sugar and keep beating until they are well combined and fluffy.

Next, add your egg and vanilla extract a little at a time and scrape down the sides to make sure its all mixed in.

In a separate bowl mix together the flour, baking powder and Speculaas spice, then stir in the sultanas. This helps stop the fruit sticking together and also distributes them better in the cookies.

Add the flour mix to the rest and then beat well until you have a fully combined, sticky dough.

Take teaspoons of the mix and roll them into small balls. Place these on a greased or lined baking tray well spread out. Rolling them into balls like this makes small, mounded cookies with a more cakey, chewy texture, which I think is really nice.

Pop these in the oven at 180°C for around eight minutes. You’re looking for them to go golden brown and darker around the edges. They will still be quit soft straight from the oven.

Leave them to cool for a couple of minutes on the tray and then put them on a wire rack to get completely cool (if you can wait that long!)

And there you have it! Yummy cookies made with a really individual spice mix. They aren’t the prettiest of bakes but they are tasty, I assure you!

The depth of flavour that the spice create makes these more than your average cookies. Now, what are you waiting for? Go and get yourself some of Steven’s Speculaas right now!!

Let me know if you do and what you think!

Happy Baking

Kate 🙂

NB - I was Provided a free sample of the Speculaas Spice Mix in exchange for a review here on the blog. My opinions are nonetheless completely honest and impartial.
