Thursday Nibble – Post Bake-Off Giddiness

Hello!

Today’s nibble is just a quick expression of excitement over last night’s first episode of this year’s Great British Bake-Off! It was good don’t you think? We’ve all been waiting, rather impatiently, for the series to come back and I certainly wasn’t disappointed! Mel and Sue were on top form as ever, there was innuendo a-plenty and some great bakes too.

So, it all started with cake week which we all knew would be much more complex than a simple Victoria Sponge! I loved the Swiss Roll challenge – they were all so creative and I’m desperate to try to decorate a Swiss Roll sponge as some of the contestants did – they looked so fab! I have actually never baked one myself, although I have done plenty of Roulades on my time. I knew the secret was to roll the whilst warm but I learnt quite a bit myself watching them. I might give it a go soon. One of my favourite moments was Mary Berry’s Scornful look as one contestant scored lines down his cake to aid rolling – we all just knew she could see it would fail!

Over the years of Bake-Off I have realised that watching the technical challenge actually becomes more fun the more you know about baking. I found myself shouting at the contestants to rinse their cherries, dry them and then roll them in flour! It’s also more fun when you follow loads of bakers and baking bloggers on twitter too – My feed has never been so busy! I was refreshing the whole way through and couldn’t keep up with all the tweets whilst still paying attention to the show!

Finally, I thought the Show-Stopper challenge was a really good one. Classic cakes, but miniature. This sounds deceptively simple but is quite tricky as mistakes look bigger the smaller your cake is! The contestants produced some beautiful mini cakes and there are some I seriously want the recipe for! My favourite were the Jaffa Orange Cakes made by Nancy who was awarded Star-Baker.

I think my favourite two so far are Nancy and Norman – both have such a good attitude and some great bakes. I can’t wait to see more from all of the bakers and I wait with baited breath for the spin-off show “An Extra Slice” on Friday. I really hope it’s good and not just “The Apprentice- You’re Fired” with a baking twist! I will let you know what I think.

For now, I leave you with this article posted online on the Telegraph, published before the Bake-off last night with 10 Things you need to know about this series.

I’d love to know what you thought of last night’s episode and who are your favourites so far? Have you got a predicted winner already?

Now, the agonising wait until next week!

Happy Baking (and watching)

Kate šŸ™‚

